Reviews

What people are saying about Rysdale Guest House




Rysdale geust house - Rating 5/5

Very friendly hoet Nice little touches lovely cake

Reviewer:Alexandra Fraser | Tue 18th Jul 2017


Excellent weekend away - Rating 5/5

We have visited this lovely bed and breakfast on numerous occasions now and could not be happier with it. The property, its rooms and its guests are well looked after. It feels very homely and we always feel welcome. We can\'t wait to return!

Response

Hello Helen and Daniel, Thank you for coming to stay with us once again and for your lovely review which I can assure you we really do appreciate. It was a special moment when you told us that you had got engaged over the weekend that you were with us. Look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes, Allan and Dianne.

Reviewer:Mr. Daniel Tomlinson | Tue 22nd Nov 2016


Stunning autumnal weekend in Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Thank you again for a brilliant long weekend in Ambleside! Very comfortable suite room, delicious breakfast, stunning views and all within a stones throw of the amenities of Ambleside. This is our second stay and we will most certainly be back!

Response

Hello Vicky and Mark, It was really good to see you again a couple of weeks ago and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. Many thanks for your very kind and positive comments and also for taking the time to write your review. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes,Allan and Dianne.

Reviewer:Dr. Victoria Lane | Wed 9th Nov 2016


Stunning autumnal weekend in Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Thank you again for a brilliant long weekend in Ambleside! Very comfortable suite room, delicious breakfast, stunning views and all within a stones throw of the amenities of Ambleside. This is our second stay and we will most certainly be back!

Reviewer:Dr. Victoria Lane | Wed 9th Nov 2016


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Rysdale for 4 nights on a Mountain Biking trip to the Lakes.It’s in a great location in the middle of Ambleside and the owners very welcoming.The B& B was really clean, offered a great breakfast and there was even complementary cake left out each day.Everything I would expect from a B& B and much more.I would recommend to anyone needing to stay in Ambleside and would definitely return.

Response

Hello Ian, Many thanks for your very kind words and comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you also for taking the time to write your review. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes, Allan.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Cook | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely, convenient place to stay.Diane\'s cake was delicious. No doubts in going back there or recommending this lovely B& B.Keep up the good work.

Reviewer:Mrs. julie husbands | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

A group of six of us travelled from London to get away in the countryside for the weekend. Rysdale Guest House was the perfect choice due to its central location to restaurants and shops, clean and modern decor, and best of all the kind and helpful hospitality and good cooking! We were made to feel very welcome and liked the homemade cakes that greeted us at the door. Hiking trails are close by so no car was needed. Would definitely book here again!

Reviewer:Mr. DavidDenny | Thu 2nd Jun 2016


Long weekend- Rating 5/5

Accommodation very comfortable, extremely clean and tidy, wide choice for breakfast, owners friendly and made you feel very welcome, highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Joe Love | Tue 19th Apr 2016


The warm welcome !! - Rating 5/5

I would like to say thank you for the brilliant accommodation, and really lovely owner.

Response

Good Morning Surachai, Many thanks for your very kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your comments. Best Wishes, Dianne and Allan.

Reviewer:Mr. Surachai Lertsuwanseri | Thu 10th Sep 2015


The Thomas\'s from the Rossendale Valley - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay, We got a warm friendly welcome. Well appointed spotless rooms.Excellent very tasty cooked breakfast with a huge choice of cereals,fresh fruit and yoghurt to start with. Would definitely stay at the Rysdale again when we are in the Lake District.

Reviewer:Mrs. SylviaThomas | Wed 15th Jul 2015


Feeling like at home - Rating 5/5

Travelling to Ambleside for studies at the University, I relly appreciate to \"come home\"every evening and enjoy a very welcoming start of the day with Alan and Diane. Their personal touch, welcome and care was amazing.

Response

Hello Joel, Many thanks for your very kind words and comments with regards to your recent stay with us. It was also a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here atRysdale and to also share your views of your own country, Switzerland. Best Wishes, Allan.

Reviewer:Mr. Joël Vuadens | Sat 18th Apr 2015


Perfect retreat - Rating 5/5

Very cozy, very neat, though at least some rooms are very tiny, they are absolutely made-up with love & nothing\'s missing. Most of all:Extremely clean! Good breakfast - and Allan & Dianne are just lovely hosts! Britain at its best!

Reviewer:Mr. David Thomas | Wed 7th Jan 2015


Lovely, welcoming and relaxing place to stay - Rating 5/5

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Rysdale Hotel. My room was clean, comfortable, cosy and tastefully decorated. I had to walk down a corridor to my bathroom, however it was my own private bathroom and was shiny and clean. There was excellent attention to the little details that make you feel looked after.The owner of the B& B was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb. Lovely food, excellent choice, and very organised service. Breakfast is only served between 8.30am and 9am, which means it is difficult to have a lie in. This didn\'t bother me too much, and on the plus side it meant everyone was having breakfast at the same time, which added to the friendly feel of the B& B. The location is extremely convenient, right next to the centre of Ambleside. Nevertheless it is not on a busy street, and my room had a view of a park and mountains. Parking was not difficult. There are car parks nearby - with free on road parking from 6pm to 10am, and then a £1 permit available to park in a nearby car park all day. I am glad I chose this B& B, and would highly recommend it.

Response

Both Dianne and myself are delighted that you and your Dad, Les, enjoyed your 3 night stay with us and we are so pleased that, despite your brother having double booked and gone to Portugal instead, you still booked in with ourselves. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, we can assure you that it means a great deal to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We hope that you will stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Allan and Dianne.

Reviewer:Miss. Hilary Batty | Sat 18th Oct 2014


bank holiday weekend getaway - Rating 5/5

My partner and I have stayed at the Rysdale a number of times now and can say this is a lovely B& B.We are made to feel welcome from walking in the door to leaving at the end of our stay.The rooms are clean and have everything you could need.The Breakfast is excellent I would certainly recommnend staying here.

Reviewer:Mrs. JaniceFrank | Tue 26th Aug 2014


Lovely weekend! - Rating 5/5

Have stayed in Ambleside many times usually in a cottage or The Salutation.The Rysdale was a lovely place and somewherewe would certainly recommend . We had room 9 at the top of the house and it was lovely and airy with great furnishings and view! Alan was very welcoming and helpful. Perfect weekend in the sun!! Tracey& Mark

Response

Hello Tracey and Mark, Many thanks for taking the time to review your 2 nightswith us this weekend and we are so pleased trhat you enjoyedyour stay.Also, thankyou for your kind comments, I can assure you they are very much appreciated and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Enjoy the Summer. Best Wishes, Dianne and Allan.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracey Liens | Sun 22nd Jun 2014


Lovely Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

The hotel is lovely, great location and breakfast really hit the spot. Friendly, helpful staff and quiet clean rooms.

Response

We are delighted that you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us over the Easter weekend and we really appreciate your very kind words and comments and we thank you for taking the time to write your review. Wishing you all the very best for the coming Summer. Dianne and Allan.

Reviewer:Mr. Gillian Raymond | Thu 24th Apr 2014


Rysdale Hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent Hosts.Rooms very clean and comfortable.Would recommend the Rysdale Hotel. Position ideal for a short stroll into Ambleside and Windemere.

Response

We would like to say many thanks to Kath and Steve for their kind words both on this siteand in our guest book. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 2 night mid-week stay andhope to see you again in the future. Dianne and Allan.

Reviewer:Mrs. Katherine Cresswell | Mon 10th Sep 2012


perfect - Rating 5/5

Everything was so perfect! We really enjoyed our stay. Allan and Dianne were very helpful and friendly. Great room and Great breakfast! We will definitely come back again! Thank you very much!

Response

Many thanks to Qiong and Simon for the kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your 3 nightstay with us. It was a pleasure to advise you on one particular walk which we are pleased you enjoyed.Look forward to seeing you again. Dianne and Allan.

Reviewer:Miss. Qiong Wu | Sun 9th Sep 2012


2nd time staying and we'll be back in future - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a very comfortable stay last year, we had no hesitation in booking again for this year and we weren't disappointed! Very clean, comfortable and welcoming.Will be back again.

Response

When Roddy and Carole checked in with us I was taken by surprise, knowing that they lived in Sydney,when they said that they had stayed with us last year. However, within 5 minutes all the memories withregards to them returned and it was very humbling to think that they had remembered us and on theirreturn to the UK had returned to stay with us once again. We look forward to seeing both Carole and Roddy again in the future. Allan and Dianne.

Reviewer:Mr. Roderick Main | Sat 25th Aug 2012


Our Two Night Stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rysdale Hotel.Alan was very friendly and helpful.We also thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts there as well.We definately would be booking to stay there again the next time we are Ambleside and would also recommend it to any of our friends.

Response

Dorothy (Dot) spent the weekend with us in early August along with Dave and Carolineand we thank them for their kind thoughts and remarks and we are pleased that they allenjoyed their time here at Rysdale. Dianne and Allan.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dorothy Bertram | Sat 18th Aug 2012


The Rysdale Hotel - Rating 5/5

Allan and Dianne are very friendly and helpful hosts providing really comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts and useful walks advice. As a regular visitor to the area, they are the best I have found. First class.

Response

As Keith says himself he is a regular visitor to the area and has now stayed with ourselves more than once.I felt as though we really got to know each other during Keith's last visit and we certainly look forward to seeing him again in the future. Allan and Dianne.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Latham | Wed 13th Jun 2012


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Parking Facilities
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks